This month, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) announced in a Bulletin that it has updated its Digital Identity Guidelines, which “provides agencies with technical guidelines regarding the digital authentication of users to federal networked systems.”

The Bulletin outlines the components of digital identity—identity proofing, authentication and federation for federal agencies to use to protect the identities of their employees.

The Guidelines are separated into four documents, each representing the various components of a digital identity system. They include:

  • Digital Identity Guidelines
  • Enrollment and Identity Proofing
  • Authentication and Lifecycle Management
  • Federation and Assertions

The Bulletin can be accessed here.