Joining more than 20 other states, and many of its sister states in the Northeast, Maine has passed a social media law that prohibits employers from requiring employees or applicants to provide them with their social media account information and passwords. This social media law was not passed in the traditional fashion of passage by the legislature and then signed by the Governor. Instead, it was included in a batch of 65 bills that Governor Paul LePage tried to veto, but was unable to do so because the legislature adjourned. The Maine Supreme Court issued an opinion last week that the 65 bills were now law, including the social media law.
Consistent with other state social media laws, employers under the Maine law can be fined, depending on the number of violations of between $100 and $500 per violation.
The law takes effect in October, so companies in Maine—take note and get ready for the compliance date.